Restaurants Fun Places Movies Bands Lyrics

The Special Consensus

Formed by banjoist Greg Cahill back in 1975, the Special Consensus has endured myriad personnel changes to survive well over two decades; their music strikes a balance between the traditional and progressive schools of bluegrass. When Cahill and Special Consensus began recording for Turquoise in 1990 (Hey, Y'all), their lineup featured guitarist Martin Marrone, bassist Dallas Wayne, and fiddler Al Murphy; by the time of 1993's Green Rolling Hills, it had been altered to include Cahill, Marrone, bassist Darren Wilcox, and mandolin players Drew Carson and Don Stiernberg. The group switched to the Pinecastle label in 1996 for Strong Enough to Bend, which featured Cahill, mandolin player Colby Maddox, fiddler Aubrey Haynie, and bassist Diana Phillips; the follow-up, 1998's Our Little Town, retained Cahill and Maddox and added guitarist Chris Walz and bassist Andrea Roberts. Pinecastle released the 25th Anniversary collection and affiliated video in 2000, followed by another full-length album, Route 10, in 2002. Steve Huey

Contact    Advertise

© 2003 All rights reserved.